Something a little Different
Saint Louise Was Listening On
2:28 a.m. || 2004-11-14

What a wonderful evening! Let's take a break from the last few entries, and talk about what a nice night I spent with Fatima celebrating Eid ul-Fitr. Her family is so generous and warm, it was like coming home the moment I came through the door. We broke the fast together, with fruits and juice, and then had a nice meal of finger foods, some American, some Indian, some European. We sat and talked about family, religion, politics, and then had prayer, which for me, as a non-Muslim asked to spend a Holy Day was life affirming in its own way to see something so pious so seamlessly woven into family life. Though it hasn't come up much here I am quite non-religious, but very spiritual, and the truth of their faith in their hearts was enough for want of weeping. Ok. There's my sappiness about it done, OK?
Afterwards her husband came home, and Fatima and I busied ourselves with picking out her bracelets for tomorrow and mehendi on eachother. (mine is absolutely beautiful, and the memory of her painting it so carefully on my skin is something I will cherish for a very long time.) Then we watched some stand-up comedy, her mother with us, and after she went to bed, we joked about and I painted Fatima's other hand. (not my best work of art that mehendi, but she was thrilled that I took a stab at it!)
I'm tired and I feel full in more ways that I can count. I feel honored to have been so completely accepted this evening by this family! And I am appreciative beyond belief that I had the chance to experience something so outside of how I was raised, a chance to see another religion, another culture, and another way of life.
There is so much beauty in the world, if people would only open their eyes to it.
Eid Mubarak to all of my friends out there. What a glorious night, even for someone outside of your faith.

reeling and stumbling

let me get up on it