Robert
Saint Louise Was Listening On
11:09 p.m. || 2004-02-05

"Aeolus: For Robert"

There was one cigarette in the corner of your mouth, stuck in the corner or the crevice of your lopsided smile.

Sometimes with the wind blowing that stray hair across your forehead you looked like Aeolus Loved you.

There was an eighth note in gold, hung around your neck and I heard music flowing sweetly from your lips.

Sometimes with the sun catching an angle in your eyes or setting your soul on fire, you looked like Apollo Loved you.

There was one tear drop, in the corner of my eye, stuck one thousand more behind, one thousand words hanging in mid-August air.

Sometimes when you slept, the moon made shadows across your chest, my heart beat quietly in syncopation with yours, and maybe I looked like I could have Loved you."

reeling and stumbling

let me get up on it