Kids on Easter
Saint Louise Was Listening On
9:09 p.m. || 2004-04-11

Oh the heartburn is inhumane!

Easter, went to see the kids, and the brother who is still under house arrest until June (my birthday, actually). It was good, the kids, as I said earlier, are fucking incredible, they really are, they really are beautiful little creatures, with these tiny fingers and arms, and their perfect little limbs, still slightly tanned from last summer. I can't describe to you the feeling of my niece in a sundress, pressed up against me reading "Dora the Explorer does Whatever" as I rub my hand idly on her little leg and she rests her head against my chest and we sit still and quietly. The same feeling applies to my nephew sitting in my lap crying after his sister hit him, when he could have run to his mom or his dad, or even either of his grandparents for comfort, but instead, right up into my lap to be cooed to and have his hair brushed back and have Auntie whisper calming words.

I can remember when he was born, and he was only about two pounds and some spare ounces and I held him for the first time. He was so tiny, and frail. I remember thinking that if there was a God, maybe there was a special God for children, and if that was the case, maybe he would make it. And I would sit in the neo-natal ICU and tell him he would make it and be strong And didn't he grow up that way?

Regardless, I feel better, just in time to go in for 5am tomorrow and do a floor move. Great. My whole week blown with pain, just to feel good on my last day.

So with lingering heartburn and a bubble bath and sleepy times to go...

Adieu

reeling and stumbling

let me get up on it